What the evidence says
The clearest individual-level evidence on lead service lines (LSLs) comes from Milwaukee, where 54.1% of residences (653 of 1,207) had LSLs. After adjusting for covariates, living in a residence with an LSL was associated with higher infant blood lead levels: an odds ratio of 1.60 (95% CI 1.04–2.46) for reaching a blood lead level (BLL) of 3.5 μg/dL or greater, and a 0.13 μg/dL increase (95% CI 0.04–0.22) in continuous log-transformed BLL. This is the only claim here that quantifies an individual-level dose-response between service line presence and blood lead.
A separate body of evidence describes the corrosion mechanism that puts lead into water in the first place. Switching a city's water source to corrosive, untreated water caused drinking water pipes to corrode and leach lead. In Washington, DC, switching water treatment chemistry from chlorine to chloramine in 2001 increased water corrosivity and caused lead to leach from aging pipes. Pressure fluctuations and system flushing were described as disturbing lead-bearing pipes and mobilizing lead particles, and elevated water temperature was described as increasing lead's solubility, exacerbating corrosion. None of these four mechanism claims carries a reported magnitude — all are directional only. The reverse process was also observed: after a city switched back to treated Lake Huron water, water lead levels and blood lead levels began to decline, again without a reported magnitude.
At the geographic level, lead pipe density emerged as the strongest predictor of blood lead levels across DC wards in a cross-validated model (AUC 0.90–0.95), and housing and schools built before the 1986 US ban on lead plumbing were both described as carrying elevated contamination risk, though neither claim gives a magnitude. In direct testing of DC schools, 60 schools in one testing round ("Draw 1") and 21 in a second round ("Draw 2") had lead concentrations above 5 ppb, and 14 (Draw 1) and 9 (Draw 2) schools exceeded the EPA's 15 ppb action level. A model-based estimate put 11% of DC's total area in a "very high" lead contamination risk zone, 13.88% in "high," and 38% in "very low." Within schools, the type of device used to collect the water sample was reported as the single most influential predictor of measured lead levels, ahead of building age or other factors.
Outside the US cases, cross-sectional sampling in Pakistan found lead above permissible limits in Punjab groundwater, "high" lead contamination in Peshawar drinking water (urban and rural), and lead above WHO limits in Swabi district drinking water — none of these three claims gives a numeric concentration or share of samples affected, only that limits were exceeded. A broader claim states that heavy metals including lead in groundwater and surface sources contribute to carcinogenic and non-carcinogenic health risk, again without a magnitude.
The evidence base also covers non-lead water-infrastructure risk that is directionally relevant to aging-pipe policy: intermittent water supply is associated with higher fecal contamination and increased diarrhoeal risk, and maintaining positive pressure in water mains, physical separation from sewer lines, rapid leak detection, and systematic replacement of aging pipes is described as preventing fecal contamination ingress during low-pressure events. No source here quantifies the effect of an actual LSL replacement program (as opposed to LSL presence/absence) on blood lead levels, no source gives cost figures for replacement, and no source reports a magnitude for how much lead concentrations change under any of the corrosivity mechanisms (source switch, chloramine, pressure events, temperature) — the evidence establishes direction for these mechanisms but not size.
Thresholds and dose-response
DC school testing used 5 ppb as the exceedance threshold reported in results — the source notes this itself exceeds the American Academy of Pediatrics' recommendation of 1 ppb. Under that 5 ppb threshold, 60 schools (Draw 1) and 21 schools (Draw 2) tested above it.
A second, higher threshold — the US EPA's action level of 15 ppb — was exceeded by 14 schools (Draw 1) and 9 schools (Draw 2), a smaller subset than exceeded the 5 ppb mark.
For blood lead, the individual-level threshold used was a BLL of 3.5 μg/dL or greater, at which residence in an LSL home carried an odds ratio of 1.60 (95% CI 1.04–2.46).
Findings
Living in a residence with a lead service line increases infant blood lead levels
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin — one source quantifies this individual-level association, though its direction is consistent with the corrosion-mechanism findings below
- mechanism
- not stated at the individual level in this claim; consistent with corrosion-driven leaching from lead-bearing service lines described elsewhere in these sources
- effect
- OR 1.60 (95% CI 1.04–2.46) for BLL ≥3.5 μg/dL; continuous log-BLL increase of 0.13 (95% CI 0.04–0.22)
- conditions / moderators
- Milwaukee residences, where 54.1% (653/1,207) had lead service lines; unmeasured confounders including infant feeding method, water source type, and duration of residence noted by the source
Increased water corrosivity — from source switching, disinfectant change, pressure events, or elevated temperature — increases lead leaching from pipes into drinking water
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: settled on direction across independent cases (a source-switch case and a treatment-change case); magnitude not established by any source
- mechanism
- corrosive water chemistry (untreated/corrosive source water, chloramine disinfectant, pressure fluctuations and flushing, elevated temperature) mobilizes lead from aging, lead-bearing pipes into the water supply
- effect
- direction only; no magnitude reported for any of the four mechanism claims
- conditions / moderators
- observed in a city-wide source switch to untreated river water and in DC's 2001 chlorine-to-chloramine treatment change; pressure/flushing and temperature effects stated generally, not tied to a specific system
Reverting to a treated water source decreases water lead and blood lead levels
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: thin — one source
- mechanism
- not stated beyond restoration of the treated source
- effect
- direction only ("began to decline"); no magnitude reported
- conditions / moderators
- observed after a city switched back to treated Lake Huron water, following a prior switch to a corrosive source
Lead service line density is the strongest predictor of neighborhood-level blood lead levels across a city
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: highconsensus: thin — one source, cross-sectional model
- mechanism
- density of legacy lead pipe infrastructure by ward
- effect
- positive association, reported as the most influential predictor among model inputs; no coefficient given; model validated by stratified 10-fold cross-validation with AUC 0.90–0.95
- conditions / moderators
- Washington, DC wards; tied to the city's legacy lead-pipe infrastructure
Housing and schools built before 1986 carry increased lead contamination risk
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin — one source
- mechanism
- lead-based paint and lead plumbing were standard before the 1986 US ban on lead in plumbing systems
- effect
- direction only, no magnitude, for both housing risk and school vulnerability
- conditions / moderators
- concentrated in central and northeastern DC for older housing stock
Water collection device type is the strongest predictor of lead contamination in school drinking water testing
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: highconsensus: thin — one source
- mechanism
- not stated
- effect
- device type reported as the most influential predictor of measured lead concentration; no direction or magnitude given for specific device types
- conditions / moderators
- DC school sampling dataset
A share of DC schools tested exceed lead thresholds
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: highconsensus: thin — one source, descriptive sampling
- mechanism
- not stated
- effect
- 60 schools (Draw 1) and 21 schools (Draw 2) exceeded 5 ppb; 14 schools (Draw 1) and 9 schools (Draw 2) exceeded the EPA's 15 ppb action level
- conditions / moderators
- validated by independent laboratory analysis and re-testing
Modeled lead contamination risk zones cover a defined share of a city's area
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: highconsensus: thin — one source
- mechanism
- not stated (model output)
- effect
- 11% of total DC area classified very high risk, 13.88% high risk, 38% very low risk
- conditions / moderators
- model validated via stratified 10-fold cross-validation, AUC 0.90–0.95
Lead concentrations in Pakistani groundwater and drinking water exceed permissible or WHO limits
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: thin — one source, cross-sectional
- mechanism
- not stated
- effect
- direction only ("above permissible limits," "highly contaminated," "higher than WHO limits"); no concentration or percentage of samples given
- conditions / moderators
- Punjab groundwater; urban and rural Peshawar drinking water; Swabi district drinking water
Intermittent water supply increases fecal contamination and diarrhoeal risk; positive pressure maintenance and pipe replacement decrease fecal contamination ingress
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin — one source
- mechanism
- low-pressure events in intermittent systems allow fecal contamination ingress; maintaining positive pressure, sewer-line separation, leak detection, and systematic replacement of aging pipes are described as preventing that ingress
- effect
- direction only; no magnitude for either the contamination increase or the prevention effect
- conditions / moderators
- Indian and comparable low- and middle-income urban settings; disease burden attribution described as varying by context