What the evidence says
In osteoporosis patients on antiresorptive therapy, measured MRONJ incidence is low. One review gives a prevalence of approximately 0.01% to 0.03%. A scoping review of 24 osteoporosis studies (498,443 participants) found a mean incidence of 0.58%, and 0.60% when restricted to studies with more than 500 participants. The sources do not reconcile the gap between these figures. Both are descriptive, and the prevalence estimate lacks a clear denominator.
Relative to non-users, one propensity-score-matched cohort of 44,900 patients older than 70 in Korea found that long-term bisphosphonate use increases MRONJ risk. The adjusted hazard ratio was 4.09 (95% CI 2.75-6.09), or 3 cases per 1000 patients, at moderate certainty. A separate statement in the same review says the risk is only marginally higher than in the general population, without giving a magnitude. In the scoping review, the 0.58% figure had no comparison group. So the direction of excess risk is supported by one matched cohort, while the size of any excess against an untreated baseline is thinly documented.
Route of administration and dose change the magnitude. Oral bisphosphonate users show an incidence of 0.05%, against a range of 1.6–14.8% (mean 7%) in cancer patients on intravenous bisphosphonates. In the same passage, cancer patients on denosumab show 1.8%. The source does not state the indication for the 0.05% group. In postmenopausal women with osteoporosis, the denosumab exposure-adjusted rate in FREEDOM Extension was 5.2 per 10,000 person-years. In cancer patients, a meta-analysis of RCTs found denosumab increases MRONJ risk compared with zoledronic acid: RR 1.448 at 1 year, 1.448 at 2 years and 1.402 at 3 years. That corresponds to 3 to 4 more cases per 1,000 patients. These trials were all funded by the denosumab manufacturer, and the population is not osteoporosis.
Local and patient factors modify risk. Periodontal disease is associated with a pooled relative risk of 3.02 (95% CI 1.99–4.56) in patients on antiresorptives. That analysis did not stratify by dose or indication, so it does not map directly onto low-dose osteoporosis therapy. A single-center study identified smoking, glucocorticoid therapy, type 2 diabetes and rheumatoid arthritis as risk factors, but reported no magnitudes. In case series of MRONJ around dental implants, 67% of implants were in the mandible, and 84% of functioning implants with MRONJ were mandibular. Average antiresorptive duration before onset was 4.8 years.
Some expected outcomes have thin evidence. Lamina dura thickening increases with long-term high-dose intravenous exposure, but showed no measured association with MRONJ (p = 0.39). Root canal treatment in patients on oral bisphosphonates shows no measured MRONJ trigger in a scoping review. That evidence is mostly case reports and small series. No source here gives a controlled estimate of MRONJ incidence at low-dose therapy against an untreated osteoporosis group.
Where the evidence splits
The matched cohort reports an adjusted hazard ratio of 4.09 for long-term bisphosphonate use. Another statement in the same review says the risk is only marginally higher than in the general population. The sources on this page do not explain the split. The cohort was limited to patients older than 70 in Korea, with heterogeneous bisphosphonate types and dosing. The "marginally higher" claim gives no comparison figure.
Absolute incidence also varies: 0.01% to 0.03%, 0.05%, 0.21%, 0.58% and 0.60%. The claims note heterogeneity in diagnostic criteria, follow-up and sampling across the scoping review's studies. They do not say which design differences produce which figure. The split is unexplained by the sources on this page.
Thresholds and dose-response
Treatment duration beyond four years is the one threshold stated. For osteoporosis patients on low-dose antiresorptives, MRONJ incidence can reach up to 0.2% when duration exceeds four years. A second source gives 0.21% for oral bisphosphonate exposure longer than four years. The first is cited background literature, and the second depends on the quality of a cited reference. Neither gives the incidence at shorter durations.
Dose and route also separate incidence levels. Oral bisphosphonate users show 0.05%, against 1.6–14.8% for intravenous use in cancer patients. No cutoff dose is given.
Findings
Long-term bisphosphonate use increases MRONJ risk in older osteoporosis patients
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: contested, because another statement says the risk is only marginally higher than in the general population
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- increases risk, with an adjusted hazard ratio of 4.09 (95% CI 2.75-6.09); 3 cases per 1000 patients
- conditions / moderators
- study of 44,900 patients, older than 70, in Korea; heterogeneity in bisphosphonate type and dosing
MRONJ incidence in osteoporosis patients on antiresorptives is low in absolute terms
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: contested on magnitude; all sources agree incidence is low
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- prevalence of approximately 0.01% to 0.03%; mean incidence 0.58% across 24 studies; 0.60% in studies with more than 500 participants; the risk is described as only marginally higher than in the general population (magnitude unspecified)
- conditions / moderators
- heterogeneity in study design, diagnostic criteria and follow-up; no comparison group for the 0.58% figure; prevalence estimates lack denominator clarity
Treatment beyond four years is associated with higher incidence
confidence — direction: mediumconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- incidence up to 0.2% (low-dose antiresorptives) and 0.21% (oral bisphosphonates) when duration exceeds four years
- conditions / moderators
- both figures are cited from other literature, not original analyses
Oral bisphosphonate use shows lower MRONJ incidence than intravenous use
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: highconsensus: thin, because a single cited source supports it
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- 0.05% in oral bisphosphonate users versus 1.6–14.8% (mean 7%) in cancer patients on intravenous bisphosphonates; 1.8% in cancer patients on denosumab
- conditions / moderators
- the source does not state the indication for the 0.05% group; figures are cited from prior literature
Denosumab is associated with MRONJ in osteoporosis at 5.2 per 10,000 person-years
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- exposure-adjusted rate of 5.2 per 10,000 person-years in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis
- conditions / moderators
- from the FREEDOM Extension trial; incidence is extremely low
Denosumab increases MRONJ risk compared with zoledronic acid in cancer patients
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin, because one meta-analysis supports it
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- RR 1.448 (95% CI 1.037–2.023) at 1 year; RR 1.448 (95% CI 1.114–1.881) at 2 years; RR 1.402 (95% CI 1.095–1.795) at 3 years; 3 to 4 more cases per 1,000 patients
- conditions / moderators
- cancer-dose regimens, not osteoporosis; all trials funded by the denosumab manufacturer; GRADE moderate quality; normalization of follow-up times gave approximated values
Denosumab and zoledronic acid show no measured difference in MRONJ prognosis in cancer patients
confidence — direction: mediumconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: thin
- mechanism
- the authors suggest the reversibility inherent to denosumab may explain a higher tendency to resolve; the claims do not establish this
- effect
- OR 1.730 (95% CI 0.801–3.739), p = 0.163; individual studies report resolution of 18–50% for denosumab-related cases and 8–43% for zoledronic acid-related cases
- conditions / moderators
- GRADE very low quality; insufficient prognosis data in the source studies; heterogeneous follow-up
Periodontal disease increases MRONJ risk in patients on antiresorptives
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin, because one meta-analysis supports it
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- pooled RR 3.02 (95% CI 1.99–4.56); severe or procedure-linked disease 4.26 (95% CI 1.96–9.24) versus moderate-to-mixed 2.39 (95% CI 1.45–3.94), with a between-group difference not statistically distinguishable (P = 0.267)
- conditions / moderators
- no stratification by dose or indication; 4 studies per subgroup
Smoking, glucocorticoid therapy, type 2 diabetes and rheumatoid arthritis are associated with MRONJ in osteoporosis
confidence — direction: mediumconfidence — magnitude: lowconsensus: thin
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- increases risk; magnitudes not reported
- conditions / moderators
- single-center observational study
MRONJ around dental implants occurs more often in the mandible, after about five years of therapy
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: high (location), medium (duration)consensus: settled for location across the case series; thin for duration
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- 65 of 97 implants (67%) in the mandible versus 32 of 97 (33%) in the maxilla; among functioning implants with MRONJ, 16 of 19 (84%) were mandibular; mean therapy duration before onset was 4.8 years (range of study means 3.9-5.7)
- conditions / moderators
- 11 case series; individual durations ranged from 3 months to 10 years
Lamina dura thickening shows no measured association with MRONJ under high-dose intravenous therapy
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin
- mechanism
- high-dose intravenous therapy increases lamina dura thickening (55.4% mild, 13.8% marked); that thickening was not linked to MRONJ
- effect
- no measured effect on MRONJ (p = 0.39)
- conditions / moderators
- high-dose intravenous therapy, not osteoporosis dosing; the authors note lamina dura changes may still serve as a risk indicator combined with other factors
Root canal treatment shows no measured MRONJ trigger in patients on oral bisphosphonates
confidence — direction: highconfidence — magnitude: mediumconsensus: thin, but leaning toward no measured effect
- mechanism
- not established in the claims
- effect
- no measured effect; retrospective studies found no MRONJ; one prospective study found 1.54% incidence; one retrospective study found periapical lesion healing with no differences from healthy controls
- conditions / moderators
- cases where root canal treatment appeared to trigger MRONJ were rare and linked to procedural errors or high-risk patients; evidence is mostly case reports and small series, and most studies had no control group